Trashigang Dzong stands on the extreme end of the spur overhanging the Drangme Chu river. It also serves as the district's administrative head office as well as the monastic community.
It was constructed in 1659 by Pekar Chophel upon the order from Trongsa Penlop Chogyel Minjur Tempa after the eastern side has been finally conquered by Drukpas and given the name Trashigang which means Fortress of Auspicious Mountains. Though this place was occupied since the 12th century by one of the kings of eastern side Serdung, and have constructed a small fort which he named as Bengkhar.
It was enlarged by Fourth Desi Tenzin Rabgay (1638-1696) and also restored by Dasho Dopola in 1950. Trashigang Dzong suffered structural damages after the earthquake of September 2009. Minor repair works have been executed on the site after the earthquake, which has not been able to consolidate the major damaged parts. Major consolidation work was done and was completed in 2019.
Open: Every day from 09:00 to 17:00 summer and 09:00-:16:00 in winter
Lunch Break: 13-14
Dress Code: Need formal dress
Entry Fee:No entry Fees
Photography:Photography is allowed till courtyard
There are several temples inside which include Lama Lhakhang which is dedicated to the Eight Great Indian Masters of Buddhism, Guru Lhakhang, Tshoshing Lhakhang where Drukpa, Karmapa, Nyingmapa, and Dzogchen Nyingmapa lamas are represented. The Gongkhang is a central tower is dedicated to Mahakala. Tsechu Lhakhang where Guru Rinpoche and Eight manifestations are displayed.