It's located on the narrow spur overlooking Mangde chu. It dates back to the 16th century when the great grandfather of Zhabdrung Lam Ngagi Wanchuk have founded a small temple in 1543 on the same location where the fortress stands.
In 1647 Zhabdrung have constructed a fortress in the same location where his ancestor have constructed a temple and gave the name Chekhor Rabtentse Dzong. In 1652 Minjur Tempa the future 3rd Druk Desi and Trongsa Penlop (Governor) at that time had enlarged the Dzong.
In 1715 Trongsa Penlop Druk Dendup have added another temple dedicated to Chenrize (Avalokiteshvara). In 1765 Trongsa Penlop Zidhar has established the Trongsa monastic Community.
Following the earthquake in 1897, the dzong has been repaired several times by the first king. In 1999 it was extensively renovated with the find from the Austrian government and consecrated in 2004 coinciding with the enthronement of the present king as Trongsa Penlop or Chotse Penlop.
Open: Every day from 09:00 to 17:00 summer and 09:00-:16:00 in winter
Lunch Break: 13-14
Dress Code: Need formal dress
Entry Fee:No entry Fees
Photography:Photography is allowed till courtyard
There are many temples inside the dzong of which important ones are dedicated to Tantric deities such as Yamataka, Haveraj, Cakrasamvara, and Kalachakra. Other temples include Myteriya Temple, constructed in 1771. And also the temple of chortens built on the same site where Lam Ngagi Wangchuk has constructed a temple and it houses the funerary Chorten of Lam Ngagi Wangchuk and also beautiful paintings of 16 arhats and Buddha Ashkobya (Mitrugpa).
And interesting thing is, earlier all the people who are moving laterally from east to west or west to east has to pass through the courtyard of this fortress as there is no other way. So it has also served a the gate for the passer-bys.